About Johnson County

County Informational Brochure
Johnson County Organizational Chart

Johnson County is currently composed of 11 cities: Iowa City, Coralville, Lone Tree, Tiffin, Oxford, North Liberty, Shueyville, University Heights, Hills, Swisher, Solon and a subdivision of West Branch. Johnson County is home to more than 100,000 Iowans and a wide variety of businesses, including farming, retail, manufacturing and academics.

The county government's responsibilities range from roads and bridges to human services, law enforcement, parks and natural resources. Iowa City is the seat of Johnson County and, as such, many of the county government offices are located there.

The Johnson County Courthouse

Data for Decision Makers - Johnson County ISU Extension to Communities


In 2011, Johnson County, Iowa had a total population of 133,000 - 67,000 (50 percent) females and 66,000 (50 percent) males. The median age was 29.3 years. Nineteen percent of the population was under 18 years and 9 percent was 65 years and older.

For people reporting one race alone, 87 percent were White; 4 percent were Black or African American; less than 0.5 percent were American Indian and Alaska Native; 6 percent were Asian; less than 0.5 percent were Native Hawaiian and Other Pacific Islander, and 2 percent were Some other race. Three percent reported Two or more races. Five percent of the people in Johnson County, Iowa were Hispanic. Eighty-three percent of the people in Johnson County, Iowa were White non-Hispanic. People of Hispanic origin may be of any race.

More information