COMPENSATION BOARD

Origin: Iowa Code 331.905

Number

of

Members: Seven (7) members

Appointed

by:

Two members shall be appointed by the Board of Supervisors. One member shall be appointed by each of the following County officers: the County Auditor, County Attorney, County Recorder, County Treasurer, and County Sheriff. The members of the County Compensation Board shall not be officers or employees of the state or political subdivision of the state.

Term:

The members of the County Compensation Board shall be appointed to a four (4) year, staggered terms of office. A term shall be effective on the first of July of the year of appointment and a vacancy shall be filled for the unexpired term in the same manner as the original appointment.

Appointments made to the County Compensation Board are to be effective July 1, 1987. The two members appointed by the Board of Supervisors and two of the members appointed by other elected officials, shall serve two year terms. These appointments shall then be appointed for a four year term. The two members to serve two year terms shall be selected by drawing lots.

Duties:

The County Compensation Board shall prepare a compensation schedule for the elected County Officers for the succeeding fiscal year. They shall review the compensation paid to comparable officers in other counties of this state, other states, private enterprise, and the federal government. In setting the salary of the county sheriff, the county compensation board shall consider setting the sheriff's salary so that it is comparable to salaries paid to professional law enforcement administrators and command officers of the lowa highway safety patrol and others in comparable work. The County Compensation Board shall submit it's recommended compensation schedule for the next fiscal year to the Board of Supervisors for inclusion in the County budget.