County Resource Enhancement Committee – Johnson County, Iowa

Origin: Iowa Code Chapter 455A "Department of Natural Resources," Section 20 "County resource

Composition:

enhancement committee"

sition: In compliance with the Iowa Code, the County resource enhancement committee shall have the following membership structure:

- Johnson County Board of Supervisors Chairpersons
- Johnson County Conservation Board Chairpersons
- Johnson County Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) Commissioners/Chairpersons
- The following school districts' Board of Directors Chairpersons: Iowa City Community School District, Clear Creek Amana School District, Lone Tree Community School District, and Solon Community School District
- Mayor or mayor's designee of the following Cities: Iowa City, Coralville, Hills, Lone Tree, North Liberty, Oxford, Shueyville, Solon, Swisher, Tiffin, and University Heights
- The head or head's designee of the following farm organizations having a county organization in Johnson County:
 - (1) The Iowa Farm Bureau Federation
 - (2) The Iowa Farmers Union
 - (3) The Iowa Grange
 - (4) The National Farmers Organization
 - (5) The Iowa Farm Unity Coalition
 - (6) Any other recognized farm or farm commodity group
- The Chairperson or chairperson's designee of each of the following wildlife or conservation organizations having a recognized county organization:
 - (a) Iowa Audubon Council
 - (b) Iowa Sportsmens Federation
 - (c) Ducks Unlimited
 - (d) Sierra Club
 - (e) Pheasants Forever
 - (f) The Nature Conservancy
 - (g) Iowa Association of Naturalists
 - (h) Izaak Walton League of America
 - (i) Other recognized wildlife, conservation, environmental, recreation, conservation education, or historical-cultural preservation groups, or a nonpartisan governmental research or study group limited to the league of women voters.
- A representatives of each of the following entities:
 - (a) A historic preservation commission or similar entity established by a county or city in the county.
 - (b) A private organization that provides recognition and protection for the historic buildings, structures, sites, and districts in a county or a city in the county.
 - (c) A historic museum or organization that maintains a collection of documents relating to the history of a county or a city in the county.

Member designees: Designees may be chosen for all positions, excepting the appointed representatives. The following designees must meet the requirements, as listed:

- County farm organization designees shall be members of the organization represented
- Wildlife or conservation organization designees shall be a member of the county chapter or local organization

Duties:The duties of the County resource enhancement committee are outlined in *Iowa Code* Chapter
455A.20, and summarized as follows:
The duties of the county resource enhancement committee are to coordinate the resource

enhancement program, plans, and proposed projects developed by cities, county conservation board, and soil and water conservation district commissioners for funding under this subchapter. The county committee shall review and comment upon all projects before they are submitted for funding under section 455A.19. Each county committee shall propose a five-year program plan which includes a one-year proposed expenditure plan and submit it to the department.

Meetings: Once annually to review REAP applications, usually end of July/beginning of August, and as needed. Meetings are typically held in the Johnson County Administration Building, 913 South Dubuque St., Iowa City