JOHNSON COUNTY CONSERVATION BOARD REGULAR MEETING MINUTES January 16, 2023

BOARD MEMBERS:

Carolyn Buckingham, President Bill Waldie, Vice President Connie Mutel Bonnie Winslow-Garvin Gene Zdrazil

STAFF MEMBERS:

Larry Gullett, Director Ally Skidmore, Office Assistant Dave Gustafson, Asst. Op. Supt.

Wade Schultz, Op. Supt.

Brad Freidhof, Cons. Pram. Mar.

Charlie Bray, Ranger II

OTHER STAFF:

Ryan Maas, Asst. County Attorney Lisa Green-Douglass, Board of Supervisors (Zoom)

President Carolyn Buckingham called the meeting to order at 5:34 p.m.

Minutes:

Motion was made by Bill Waldie to approve the Johnson County Conservation Board Regular Meeting minutes of December 19, 2023. Second by Connie Mutel with a unanimous vote.

Bills:

Motion was made by Gene Zdrazil to approve department 24 bills in the amount of \$28,558.55, department 35 ARPA F.W. Kent Park Dump Station in the amount of \$2,062.15, department 40 in the amount of \$18.55, department 83 in the amount of \$650,435.62. Second by Bonnie Winslow-Garvin with a unanimous vote.

Closed Session:

1. Discussion/Action – closed session regarding law enforcement investigation. Possible closed session per 21.5(1)(g) Code of Iowa to avoid disclosure of specific law enforcement matters, such as current or proposed investigations or inspection or auditing techniques or schedules, which if disclosed would enable law violators to avoid detection.

Motion made by Bill Waldie to go into closed session at 5:37pm Seconded by Bonnie Winslow-Garvin followed by roll call vote; Buckingham; aye, Mutel; aye, Waldie; aye, Zdrazil; aye. Winslow-Garvin; aye.

Discussion/Action – Relative to items discussed in above closed session – if needed.

Motion by Connie Mutel to proceed with action discussed in the closed session. Seconded by Bonnie Winslow-Garvin with a unanimous vote.

Directors Report:

Director Larry Gullett reviewed staff activities and financial reports.

Discussion by Public:

None present.

Business:

1. Discussion/Action – FY25 budget power point presentation.

Discussion only.

2. Discussion/Action – closed session per 21.5(1)(c) To discuss strategy with counsel in matters that are presently in litigation or where litigation is imminent where its disclosure would be likely to prejudice or disadvantage the position of the governmental body in that litigation. Re: herbicide damage

Motion was made by Connie Mutel to go into closed session at 7:25pm. Seconded by Bonnie Winslow-Garvin. Followed by roll call vote; Waldie; aye, Buckingham; aye, Mutel; aye, Winslow-Garvin; aye, Zdrazil; aye.

Motion was made by Connie Mutel to come out of closed session at 8:12pm. Seconded by Bonnie Winslow- Garvin with unanimous vote.

- 3. Discussion/Action Relative to items discussed in closed session if needed.
- 4. Discussion/Action closed session regarding potential purchase of particular real estate. Possible closed session per 21.5(1)(j) Code of lowa to discuss purchase of particular real estate where premature disclosure could be

reasonably expected to increase the price the governmental body would have to pay for that property.

No closed session.

- 5. Discussion/Action Relative to items discussed in closed session if needed.
- 6. Discussion/Action Election of Officers for calendar year 2024.

Motion was made Bill Waldie to suspend section 3. Seconded by Gene Zdrazil. Followed by unanimous vote.

Motion was made by Bill Waldie to keep same slate of officers. Seconded by Connie Mutel. Followed by unanimous vote.

Announcements/Correspondence:

Budget Presentation to BOS, Monday January 22nd, 2024, 9:00 AM – HHS Building, 2nd floor Conference Room 203C, 855 S Dubuque Street, Iowa City, IA, 52240

Public Hearing Meeting for the Shower House Project – Thursday, January 25th, 2024, 5:30 pm – Conservation Education Center at Kent Park.

Next Regular of the Conservation Board – Tuesday, February 20th, 2024, 5:30 pm – Education Center at Kent Park.

Adjournment:

The meeting was adjourned at 8:40 pm.

The above minutes were read and approved by the Johnson County Conservation Board the 20th day of February 2024.

Signature on File
Carolyn Buckingham, President

Signature on File
Bonnie Winslow-Garvin, Secretary