JOHNSON COUNTY CONSERVATION BOARD SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES June 3, 2024

BOARD MEMBERS:
Carolyn Buckingham, President
Bill Waldie, Vice President
Connie Mutel
Bonnie Winslow-Garvin
Gene Zdrazil

STAFF MEMBERS: Brad Freidhof, Cons. Prgm. Mgr. Dory Kjosa, Office Manager Wade Schultz, Op. Supt Charlie Bray, Ranger II

OTHER STAFF:

Ryan Maas, Asst. County Attorney Rachel Zimmermann Smith, County Attorney

President Carolyn Buckingham called the meeting to order at 7:03 p.m.

Business:

 Discussion/Action – closed session regarding law enforcement investigation. Possible closed session per 21.5(1)(g) Code of lowa to avoid disclosure of specific law enforcement matters, such as current or proposed investigations or inspection or auditing techniques or schedules, which if disclosed would enable law violators to avoid detection.

Motion made by Bill Waldie to go into closed session at 7:03 pm. Seconded by Connie Mutel followed by roll call vote; Winslow-Garvin; aye, Mutel; aye, Waldie; aye, Zdrazil; aye. Buckingham; aye.

The board came back into open session at 8:15 pm.

2. Discussion/Action – Relative to items discussed in above closed session.

Motion was made by Bill Waldie to approve recommendations 1, 2 & 3 as discussed in the closed session. Second by Connie Mutel with a roll call vote as follows: Buckingham, aye; Winslow-Garvin, aye; Mutel, aye; Zdrazil, aye; Waldie, aye.

3. Discussion/Action – Establish and empower Board subcommittee to address Department administration and operations issues.

Motion was made by Binnie Winslow-Garvin that the Board establish a subcommittee of 2 Johnson County Conservation Board members, namely Carolyn Buckingham and Bill Waldie to act as and on behalf of the Board in all matters on which the Board may have authority, except the approval of contracts, between now and the next regularly scheduled meeting, all such actions being subject to repeal or reversal by the Board as the Board may see fit. Second by Connie Mutel with a roll call vote as follows: Winslow-Garvin, aye; Buckingham, aye; Mutel, aye; Zdrazil, aye; Waldie, aye.

Announcements/Correspondence:

Next Regular of the Conservation Board – Tuesday, June 18, 2024, 5:30 pm – Education Center at Kent Park.

Adjournment:

The meeting was adjourned at 8:15 pm.

The above minutes were read and approved by the Johnson County Conservation Board the 21st day of May 2024.

<u>Signature on File</u>
Carolyn Buckingham, President

Signature on File
Bonnie Winslow-Garvin, Secretary