Turnout (9:00, 11:00, 3:00 and Final)

Ballots Counted After Election Night, Absentee Ballots Not Returned and Provisional Ballots

Early Voting Statistics

Early Voting Schedule

Ballot Resolutions Each city, and the unincorporated part of the county, had its own revenue purpose statement.

Dates and deadlines

  • Friday, April 24: Voters registering after 5 p.m. April 24 needed to use the election day registration procedure.
  • Friday, May 1: Deadline to request absentee ballot by mail, 5 p.m.
  • Monday, May 4: Last day for early voting in person at Auditor's Office, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; postmark deadline for absentee ballots returned by mail.
  • Tuesday, May 5: Polls open at regular polling places from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.


On February 2, the Legislature approved and Governor Culver signed Senate File 44, a bill related to local option sales tax elections following a federal disaster.

The sales tax is placed on the ballot by cities representing more than 50% of the county's population. In Johnson County, this means the city of Iowa City alone can place the issue on the ballot. The Iowa City City Council voted on February 24 to place the sales tax on the ballot. Senate File 44 specified May 5 as the election date.

Under Senate File 44, the sales tax passed or failed in each governmental unit (the 11 cites entirely within Johnson County, the Johnson County portion of West Branch, and unincorporated Johnson County), separately and based only on that unit's vote. This is different than the 1999 sales tax election, when the group of six contiguous cities voted as one unit, and the 2007 school infrastructure sales tax, which passed or failed on a countywide vote.