September 8, 1987 School Election

Iowa City Community School District

3 Year Full Term (3 to be elected)
Connie Champion 2185 (65%)
Betsy Hawtrey 2156 (65%)
Jay Christensen-Szalanski 1297 (39%)
Kathy Penningroth 1025 (31%)
Randall Jordison 997 (30%)
Craig Gjerde 709 (21%)
Gary W. Fischer 275 (8%)
Linda Dellsperger 217 (6%)
Walter Schnelle (write in) 205 (6%)
Scattered write in 22 (1%)

To Fill Vacancy (1 to be elected)
Frances Malloy 1642 (65%)
Walter Schnelle (write in) 841 (33%)
Scattered write in 40


Board Director, District 1

Nile Dusdieker 65
Write-in 0

Board Director, District 4

Coleen Chipman 64
Write-in 1


School Board member (2 to be elected)

Jon A. Swenson 247
Judith A. Stebral 246
Scattered write-in votes 17

Special Proposition

Shall the Board of Directors of the Lone Tree Community School District, be authorized to cause to be levied an enrichment amount not to exceed $100,000 for the budget year beginning July 1, 1988, for a period of five (5) years all as provided in Sections 442.14 and 442.15 of the Code of Iowa, 1986?

Yes 196
No 88



School Board member (full term)

Lillian L. Davis 134
Dan Bartlett (Write-in) 66

School Board member (to fill vacancy)

Frank E. Kuennen 122
Sharon K. Brogan 90

Special Proposition

Shall the Board of Directors of the Solon Community School District, in the Counties of Johnson and Linn, State of Iowa, be authorized to levy an annual school house tax upon all of the taxable property in the School District not to exceed Sixty-Seven and One-Half Cents (67 1/2) per thousand dollars of assessed value in any one tax year for the purchase of grounds, construction of school houses or buildings, the payment of debts contracted for the erection or construction of schoolhouses or buildings, not including interest on bonds, for procuring or acquisition of libraries, for opening roads to school-houses or buildings, for the purchase of buildings or schoolhouses, for the purpose of repairing, remodeling, reconstructing, improving or expanding the schoolhouses or buildings for the School District, for the purpose of landscaping, paving or improving the schoolhouses or building grounds, or for the rental of facilities pursuant to Chapter 28-E of the Code of Iowa, for a period of ten (10) years, commencing with the levy to be made for collection in the fiscal year beginning July 1, 1989?

Yes 144
No 58


Board Member, District 4

James E. Kaufmann 585
Write-in 0

Board Member, District

James Sauter 29
Write-in 0